+ Follow This Topic

Thread: How to stop loving someone?

How to stop loving someone?

Hi guys.
    My story is i met a guy when i was in the USA (i am Australian) I went back to see him in May, things didnt work out so i flew home, after months of him ignoring me he started talking to me again, we got back together and i flew back over in October only to have him treat me badly, so i decided to leave and i regret it.
    He has ignored me ever since. This is my first time i have been in love (i am 28) and i just dont know how you "get over someone" and just move on. Sure i have gone NC, but i still think about him everyday, all day.
    How do you just stop loving someone?

Don't talk to him, ignore him if he talks you.
    Become more active by doing something. Go to gym, work hard with work.
    Go out with your friends more.
    Meet more new people and get to know them.
    If your mind is busy with other things, most likely you'll get over him since you won't be thinking about him often.
    Good thing about this is that, he lives in US and your in AU...so it's hard to see each other.
    If you two lived in the same city then most likely you'll end up bumping into each other at the shops or something.

Lady, getting over a someone is a process that you have to go through. It's certainly not something that we wake up from the next day and all is well. First step is to accept that who you left is not someone that you were meant to spend the rest of your life with.

so i decided to leave and i regret it.
    You regret it? Really? He treated you poorly and he took advantage of your generosity. He was a slovenly hack who you were addicted to. You've shared nothing that indicated that he showed you any loving actions (sex does not count as a loving action if that's the only thing good about being with him).