Hi. I'm in a bit of a sticky situation and need advice about which direction to go. I'll try to keep it as short as possible.

I'm 27 now and I met this girl who is 21. She studies in the university I graduated from. We met in a rather unusual way. I was trying to help her patch things up with another boy instead we kinda connected. During this time I WAS RECOVERING FROM A BREAK UP from a 5 year relationship. I was not exactly in the right mind. I was utterly depressed and my mind was super messed up. Anyways this new girl seemed much much much better than my first and only girlfriend.

I got real close with this new girl but my mind was virtually stuck with my ex back then and I ended up saying extremely horrid things to this new girl and her mom - extremely nasty things that I am not proud of in any fashion. I still don't know why I did those things. I couldn't trust this new girl for reasons I don't know. It was worse than a nasty break up and we both tried to patch things up but it only made matters worse. I broke off with my friends, parents and basically everyone for a year.

During this time sought help from a professional counselor. During our brief 4 months dating period I told this new girl that I needed help to get my head straight as my ex was my first and we were more than ready to get married and I needed time to be a 100% but I never did that. Anyways, during this 1 year I went through my medication, my recovery plan, improved my health, my work, etc and became a new man. Now that I'm better i'm slowly connecting with my parents and old friends (best friends) and they happen to be her mutual friend. My friends understand that I was going through hell back then and they accepted my apology.