+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Help with my partner's inappropriate female friend situation

Help with my partner's inappropriate female friend situation

I am at a loss and I need some feedback from some unbiased people. I'm fed up and I just don't know where else to turn.

Basically, my live in boyfriend works in a hospital. I work in law enforcement. So we both work in fields where we are surrounded by people of the opposite sex. This will inevitably lead to opposite sex friendships. I'm ok with that. After almost 15 years of working around cops, I'm pretty good at maintaining my boundaries and keeping things on the up and up. I always do my best to be respectful of their romantic relationships. And I always keep my distance out of respect for my boyfriend.

However, he has a couple of female friends who are entirely inappropriate. One of them is particularly bad. I have lived with the idea of "that's just how she is" for close to 2 years now, but once she became openly hostile towards me, I just got plain difficult. Several months back, she said something that offended him and he cut her out. My life had been so much easier. Recently, however, we were at a gathering and she was there. They made up. The entire night she was trying to shove alcohol down his throat and was putting her hands all over him. Again, I got "that's just how she is, she doesn't mean anything by it". Whether she does or not, it's rude and disrespectful to me. I would never in a million years behave in such a way around a male friend's significant other. But for some reason, it's okay for this girl.