+ Follow This Topic

Thread: need help about realistic expectations in a 3yr relationship,please any advice

need help about realistic expectations in a 3yr relationship,please any advice

hiya,its my first time to post a question like this and i would appreaciate any advice at all.i have been seeing my boyfriend for 3years now,im a single mum with a 4 1/2 year old daughter and generaly we all get on very well,im 27 and my boyfriend is 24.he lives nealy 70 miles away so we mostly see each other when my daughter goes to her dads 2 days a week and maybe a extra day or so depending on our schedules,i like being indapendant and having days apart and generally the relationship is great but......and heres the big but.....my boyfriend still wants to travel. he is currently in collage and will be for next 3 years so living together is not a option and he says during school holidays he wants to spend time traveling just cause i have a kid and cant go doesnt mean he should miss out,he has already gone away for a month interrailing around europe last year and we got through it but it was horrible being the one left at home and not know what he was doing or who he was with,now he is talking about spending a few years saving and going to the states after collage for 3-6 months of fun,he expects me to be just waiting for him back home.i dont want to be a bitch and ruin his dreams of travel but im just not up for being left like that,i dont understand how he would want to leave me,we go on regular holidays of up to 2weeks away on our own and i dont see why we cant just have lots of holidays together instead of him going off with his mates and getting up to god knows what,please can someone tell me am i being reasonable here or not????would anyone out there be ok with this arrangement?its a huge issue for me and it keeps coming up in fights,i just dont understand why he would want to go on these huge lifechanging adventures without the girl he loves????pleae help and thank you in a