This is my first time in a forum. So here goes....
I am 25 years old, the man in my life is 21. We have been in a "relationship" for 16 months. I use quotes because we broke up about 7 months ago and it was very difficult for us both. I even started seeing a therapist to deal with the issues I was having. Since the break up we have continued to be very big parts of each others lives. We live about 40 minutes away from each other so we don't see each other alot during the week sometimes once or twice. We talk every day all day, we spend every weekend together at his house or mine, we still sleep together (obviously) but it happens much less than when we were offically in a relationship, we plan everything together- weekend trips to the city, wine trails, sporting events, camping, float trips, grocery shopping, home improvement projects, and even very expensive over seas vacations. So I feel as though we are essentially in a serious relationship, as we were before the break up, but we have no title and no offical commitment. He isn't willing to have a real discussion about it all he says is "We are what we are" and "I want you in my life and I want to be in your life"....when I bring up my unchanged feelings for him he becomes defensive and evasive and the conversation is either over or will turn into a huge arguement in which one of us will leave and I will cry for hours and he will be angry and upset for hours.
I know that because of his age the obvious obstacle is his maturity. And I do not disagree. I will say, however, that his maturity does far exceed that of a typical 21 year old man. He is very independant, doesn't party often, very focused on school and work, very good with finances, has his own house that he keeps very clean....since we met I've never actually viewed him as someone younger than me.