+ Follow This Topic

Thread: thinking about calling it quits- but am I making the right call?

thinking about calling it quits- but am I making the right call?

Hey Im new here and I don't want to ring up one of my friends for advice. I dont have that many friends and I just don't like to feel judged by the ones I do have.
    Any way, I've been dating a guy since the end of March and everything was really good. He was training to be an officer as well as working part time at his other job as a fire fighter. He said if it didnt work out for him as a cop he can always go back to being a fire fighter. We both live with our parents because right now, money is tight and jobs dont pay as well as they used to. Also I graduated recently so it's harder for me to find a full-time job (I am working part-time right now).
    He quit his job as a cop last week because he said he loathe the job. Did not like the work and dealing with people's petty issues. So his training officer told him to go home and think about his decision if he wanted to stay or not. He said that same night his lieutenant called him and told him to turn in his things (not giving him a chance to make his decision) so that really bummed him out because it was like he got fired even tho technically he didn't get fire. I wonder if that makes any sense.
    I knew he was going to quit because he told me a couple of times towards the end of july that he was going to. Said the job makes him have a bad attitude and he is moody because of the job. I did see that change but then again, I didnt know him before March so I don't know if moody is just part of who he is.
    Thing is starting in mid July, thats when I feel things between us havent been the same. He has given me the impression that it was his job as a cop but its been a whole week not working as a cop (and back to his old job as a fire fighter) and he still seems the same.