+ Follow This Topic

Thread: My GF is in the States, so I have some Qs about American relationship norms.

My GF is in the States, so I have some Qs about American relationship norms.

First of all, hello.
    I am a college student living in Korea, and I am in a relationship with a girl who is also a Korean college student. We've been dating for more than a year, and we are pretty committed to each other, and despite our young age, have even verbally agreed to get married (although there wasn't any 'official' proposals or anything) once we get older and have jobs.

The difficult thing however, is that my girlfriend has gone to the States (California, to be exact) for a year on an exchange student program. It's difficult of course not being able to be with each other but we keep in touch through Skype video calls and so on.

And so here's the reason I'm writing this. The US and my country Korea, probably have very different cultures and norms when it comes to relationships, and in daily socializations between guys and girls. I am aware that things are probably much more um... lax in terms of what's allowed and not allowed between couples and lovers, as well as between guy and girl friends. I very much want my girlfriend to be assimilated into American culture in the one year she is there, as I want her to get along well with friends and improve her English skills quickly (which is the primary reason why she's there). However, as a Korean guy who has gotten used to Korean norms for most of my life, I admit it is rather difficult to accept some of the things that might be okay in the States, but not so much in my own country. I am trying though, trying not to be a jerk bf who gets in the way of his gf having fun.

So I want to know what is accepted/not accepted/frowned upon/okay for some but not others/etc. in the States, as I haven't been there since I was in kindergarten.

Here are some things from the top of my head: