+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Overthinking?

Overthinking?

Hi everyone

I have been dating a lovely guy for just over 2 months.
    Things have been good, we usually see each other 2 times a week.
    We text daily (usually morning and night, very brief messages)

I am very new to dating as I was in a long term 5 year relationship previously (ended 8 months ago) so I may be overthinking and worrying for nothing which is why I am here...

Last week, we only saw each other once due to his work schedule and plans he had. I noticed that the texting started getting less and even going a day without anything. The texting is usually initiated 50/50 but I was starting to notice I was initiating more, so I pulled back.

We had a date Monday and somehow we ended up discussing about last week and I mentioned as lightly as I could I had noticed the communication was less. He looked upset he had made me doubt him and reassured me with the kind words he thinks of me all the time etc... and that he will make more effort.

Well, I know its only been one day - but I am starting to feel the same as last week. We have no plans for another date. He didn't text last night again. It seems so silly and trivial and maybe I am overthinking?

He says the nicest things, when we are together it is perfect and I feel safe. But when we are not, I start getting doubts. And I don't like it

I am a believer in actions speak louder than words, and I feel like sometimes I hear his great words etc but not seeing much effort outside of seeing me? Am I expecting too much?

He has introduced to me to his friends, things seem great. Even as I am typing all this, it is making me think I am being paranoid.
    Sometimes writing it down can help see sense!