+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Back in contact with a childhood friend, but what am I feeling?

Back in contact with a childhood friend, but what am I feeling?

Hi all,

I'd start off by saying long story short but I've said that before and blurted out the entire thing anyway so here goes...

I am 22, male and live in the UK. I am a University graduate (2011) and have a full-time job, car, live with my parents.

Probably 12 or so years ago I had a childhood friend, female, about 3 years my junior. Being that young age, it didn't really matter as we were too young to think the age-gap weird, plus she was a bit of a tomboy. We used to hang out daily, afterschool, weekends etc just doing kid stuff. She lived about 30s down the road.

I cannot recall how soon after but we eventually lost contact (Possibly when I changed schools) and only met once again about 6 years ago when I helped fix her parent's computer - by this time they had moved, but still in the same town, about a 15m walk away. She was about 13 then, I would have been 16 or so (I am not certain of dates) and we eased into conversation as though we'd never been apart, mostly talking about the teachers at my old shcool, her current back then. That is all I remember.

Fast forward to last Saturday and something made me search for her on Facebook. I found her profile, which claimed she was still living in the same town, presumably the same house. I sent her a friend request, which got accepted a few hours later much to my surprise as I was expecting it to be ignored being that it had been so long and some major developmental years had passed.

Looking on her profile, and just as I predicted those few years before she has turned into a level-headed, beautiful young woman. But, what hit me the hardest is that she is currently living in America, on a 4yr University course.