+ Follow This Topic

Thread: i was offered a supervisory position @ work...

i was offered a supervisory position @ work...

hi guys. i have quite a decision to make over the weekend so i'll lay it on you guys for some input...

i've been working for this company for about six years now. i work in a group home with people with disabilities. i have been working in the same house for most of that time and i'm pretty comfortable there. i have been part time because of school but i'm getting ready to graduate, (only 2 classes left!!) and i'm all too aware that i have to get a full time job to start paying back my loans, keep myself afloat, etc...

well today i was at the main office and this program manager who has known me since i first started and has been trying to get me to work in one of her homes forever offered me a home supervisor position at one of her homes that i used to work at a long time ago, before she was the program supervisor. the guy who was the pm when i worked there was an *******.

cons:
    there are two men that live there, one is high functioning and has a job. the other one is autistic and cannot speak and is big and has been known to be incredibly violent once over stimulated. he didn't get that way when i worked for him though, my trick was keep it calm and mellow at all times and all was cool. but he has beaten people up and is known to throw things and get crazy, which is just something you have to deal with when working with retarded people.
    i will leave a home i have worked in for a long time and am comfortable in.

pros:
    i would have health benefits, which i need.
    i will be a supervisor and will be able to put it on my resume.
    i'll make about 4 bucks an hour more than i make now.
    my supervisor would be this awesome woman named cecil.
    i would gain experience.

i guess i'm afraid that i'll get the job and i'll hate it and regret doing it. i tend to think fatalistically. what do you guys think?