+ Follow This Topic

Thread: "I don't do the whole 'girlfriend' thing".. please offer any advice?

"I don't do the whole 'girlfriend' thing".. please offer any advice?

Hello...I'm new to this, and would just really appreciate anything that anyone could say that might help with how I'm feeling...

I had a massive crush on this guy at work for months, I always had a feeling he liked me too, as we would often exchange nervous glances and occasionally a smile..we're both pretty shy so managed to go for months only talking to each other when it was absolutely necessary. On the end of term night out (we worked in a school), which was also my last day in that job, a coworker told him that I liked him, and he came over to me. I don't think I've ever been so blissfully happy/terrified as the moment when I realised he was about to speak to me, it had been all I'd wanted for what seemed like forever. He bought me a drink and we spent the rest of the night sat outside talking, it was one of the best nights I've ever had, it was amazing to finally feel relaxed around him and be able to talk to him. He admitted he'd liked me for some time too but had been too shy to talk to me, and we kissed.

Anyway to cut a long story short, we started seeing each other and spent the rest of the summer seeing each other roughly once a week, we would go out for drinks, to the cinema, have nights in at each other's houses, it was amazing. I couldn't quite believe it was happening. I was always so so nervous before I'd go to meet him though, when I was with him I'd soon feel fine, I guessed I was getting so nervous because it meant so much to me.