+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "If we'd met earlier, maybe it would have been different"

"If we'd met earlier, maybe it would have been different"

3 months ago I asked out a customer from work who I had instant chemistry with - something I've never done before. I don't think in theory our first couple of dates could have gone any better.

On the second, third, and fourth dates she held my hand - early on in the date. I'm a girly guy, and hand holding means a lot more to me than most guys. I didn't assume anything, but did fish a little bit later where we were at. Edit: She replied coy.

The second date I asked her to my college homecoming and after I told her that I hoped we'd go out again soon - but she said she tried to go out "every other guy, to keep things fun and casual". Third third date she asked me to her homecoming dance. So I waited two weeks to ask her out for a 4th.

On the 4th date we began to DTR but because it was our first double date we couldn't DTR because of the other couple in the car so we scheduled to talk about it the next day. She said that she was worried what would happen. Because our 2nd and 3rd date were each others college homecoming dances - she said she held hands more so we'd be comfortable the entire night. I told her how I felt about her meeting my all of my intellectual checklist - but feeling emotional distance and not really knowing if we were compatible because of that. She told me she felt that I was also marriage material to her, but that there was another guy who had recently come home from a 2 year church mission about the same time I met her. She wasn't pushing anything, said that she didn't love either of us, and needed time basically. I told her that I could respect that, if we wouldn't hold hands - but I didn't want to have to figure out whether she'd been on a date with him or someone else - if she wanted to, great. If not, fine. She agreed.