View Poll Results: Which one is the best choice I could make in this situation?

Voters
6. You may not vote on this poll
  • Accept the postdoctoral position at Stanford but dump boyfriend.

5 83.33%
  • Accept Penn State offer as Visiting Professor although unprestigious, so long as can get married.

0 0%
  • Accept postdoctoral position at Stanford and ask boyfriend to consider postponing marriage.

0 0%
  • Reschedule with Penn State & Stanford so that both may be taken. Ask boyfriend to postpone marriage.

1 16.67%
  • Stay at current university even though there is no infrastructure and prospect for advancement

0 0%
+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Marriage versus Career Dilemma

Marriage versus Career Dilemma

I am a 33 years old female. Having completed my PhD from John Hopkins about 3 years ago, I am currently a lecturer at a small university. There are no facilities for research at the university I'm currently at, so I am keen on moving to another university to allow me to conduct my research and for career advancement.

I have two competing offers:
    (1) A postdoctoral researcher at Stanford for a period of 6 months starting in 6 months (May).
    (2) A visiting professor at Penn State for period of 1 year starting in 3 months (March / April).

I can only choose EITHER Stanford OR Penn State due to the overlapping start time and duration

If I choose offer (1), I have the support of my parents but may lose my boyfriend of 4 years.

If I choose offer (2), I may lose the support of my parents but still have my boyfriend of 4 years. My boyfriend stays in Penn State and promises he will marry me when I've settled down in Penn State for 3-4 months.

Is the prestige gained from doing a postdoc at Stanford worth anything?