+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Not the type?

Not the type?

To the lovely ladies out there;

I've been in 3 serious long term relationships, and been engaged 2 times, but have never married. I'm 38.

I reckon I'm OK looking, keep in shape, good cook, tidy, and can tell a joke or a good story. I buy my current gf flowers every week, and try to appreciate when she's tired and wants to be pampered. I'm generous with gifts and paying at restaurants and get on well with her friends and family. This has always been the case with every relationship, and I'm also careful not to be a doormat either.

When I get into a relationship, the same old things happen, even when I've pre-empted issues by asking directly "how do you feel about...?":
    - me being a smoker
    - that I don't care about big houses or flash cars, or designer labels. I don't watch TV, and couldn't give a hoot about soaps, X Factor or Strictly - I read the papers instead, as I hate adverts
    - that I'm a painter, writer and musician, and those thing will always have to exist in my life, ie, I must have time to do them (I don't watch sport, btw)
    - I may not want children of my own, probably not actually, but get on with and look after other peoples' kids fine

In short, I'm a renaissance man, according to other people, and this is mistaken for not taking life seriously. I can make good money working in IT, so I have good future prospects, if I decide to stick with it (IT).