+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Found a text in my husband's phone. How do I confront him?

Found a text in my husband's phone. How do I confront him?

This is my first time here...and I'm in need of some advise, so let me just start by telling you that I've been in this relationship for 12 years, we're not legally marry but it really doesn't feel any different... I've always had 100% trust in him, I've felt the luckiest woman in the world all this years knowing that I can trust him completely and never had any doubts...until last night. For some reason I looked into his texts when he was sleeping, just out of curiosity...and I saw a text to one of his ex's from more than 20 years ago. whom I know and with who he still maintains a "friend" relationship, she has her own family already. She is a babysitter and I guess she sent him a text by mistake which was meant for the baby's mother...it was like this..

Her: The text was not for you sorry, it's the little girl I take care of, she has the flu...
    Him: I have the flu too, can you babysit me?
    Her: Oh that's horrible, take care of yourself...you need a wife!
    Him: When are you divorcing?

I have no doubts that he loves me, he lets me know constantly and we hardly have any problems in our relationship. So I can't explain how I felt last night as I was reading this! I feel so stupid now for trusting him so much, I know or I'm 98% sure ( I wont's say 100% anymore) that we would not cheat on me, but what is this all about then? How do I confront him? I violated his privacy by checking his phone but what he did was so much worse! Please give me some advise! I don't want to bring this up and at the same time stay in the relationship, I think this will make him not respect me because he knows I allowed this in some way...??? I'm so confused, this is so new for me and devastating...!