+ Follow This Topic

Thread: How do I escape this???

How do I escape this???

What a position I have put myself in! I've been living and working in the Philippines now for almost 2 years. I met this girl while working on a project - she was a freelance writer. I am a programmer. I am American and she is a Filipina. I spent the summer of 2011 here, and after I went home and packed things up to come back and live here for a while. I do love it here in this country very much. The people are very kind and I am able to work on my projects. The cost of living is low, so live is relatively easy in that regard.

Problem. This woman I am involved in is a nightmare! There were MAJOR signs and red flags along the way that should have told me to run away fast. But I won't lie - there was an attraction there and it just pulled me along. I just wasn't thinking right. Anyway, she has two young children and was never married. when I met her, the youngest is just 6 months old. This also should have been a bit of a red flag. What happened with their father? I know very little about the guy.

We've been through numerous break-ups. She's left the house and stayed at parent's place several times. The longest separation was last Nov/Dec (2012) for just over one month. Like an IDIOT, I allowed her to come back. A month had passed and I really should have just let it all go.