+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Just a doubt

Just a doubt

I am quite new to online dating and I've recently met a nice guy. We've chatted twice and he has been pretty upfront on his situation. He is single and has been working for the last three years in Africa. He is an interesting person to talk to, mannered and respecful. The second time we talked, he told me that he was leaving the next day for a three weeks holiday to his country, something that in his work occurs once every six months. I thought this was fantastic knowing that he had been away for so long. Then he said something that confused me: 'please don't forget about me in these three weeks'. I 'smiled' then but I thought that for sure he would send me a quick note in these three weeks, especially over Easter. I wouldn't expect someone who just met me, even if we felt we had a connection to dedicate me too much time while he's at home for only three weeks after six months of being away. For sure he would want to dedicate his time to family, friends, sorting things but I think that not contacting me at all, like sending me a quick hello email would be rude. He also said, you can email me at any time, I will reply, and I told him the same thing with different words. Thing is that he initiated our first chat, I initiated the second one and I think it's him who should make a quick contact again while he's on holiday. It's been a week since then and I don't mind it, I mean one would expect that the first days at home would be his busiest, but I really think that no contact at all in these three weeks, would be simply rude, unless of course his circumstances at home would be terribly complicated suddenly. Of course I don't really know him yet but I have no reason to believe he would be lying about anything. There have been no red flags yet and I suppose, it's just the simple gesture, that I would consider polite and right in these circumstances that bothers me. Am I right about this?