+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Not sure how to proceed...

Not sure how to proceed...

Ok, so some background on me... About 9 months out of a relationship (10 years, 5 of them married, now divorced). The relationship ended badly, ex wife had mental health problems and was unfaithful (this last bit was what snapped the marriage) I have a 5 year old son that lives with me. I work in education administration. I consider myself 'the nice guy', a good listener, soft-spoken. I'm very tall with a couple extra pounds but nothing a zillion other 31 year old guys don't have.

About 4 months ago I started seeing someone at work. She and I got very close very quickly. She became close to my son and we met each others families (I went to Thanksgiving with hers, she did a Xmas party with mine). We spent a lot of time together. During December she was in a very bad car accident. My son happened to be with his mother and I made it to the ER before her parents did. I stayed with her (at her request) for a few days to make sure she was ok, she cried into my shoulder every night before she fell asleep.

Around January she told me the doctors thought she had cancer, started her on 'treatment'. I tried to be supportive but she didn't give much information other than they thought she might need a hysterectomy and that the treaatment included chemotherapy. In spite of this, she continued to work two jobs and also spend any free nights she had coaching a special olympics team.

During February break (school) when my son was with his mother, we spent almost every evening together even after she would get out of work late.