+ Follow This Topic

Thread: 83 mile gap beginning to widen

83 mile gap beginning to widen

Hello everyone,

Well, I am a newbie with a bit of a story. I met a man on Match last November. I was dubious at first to sign up and meet someone online but everyone seems to be doing it with quite alot of success. Anyhow, my OH messaged me and we got chatting. We hit it off instantly and within a few weeks, he had driven from the Surrey/Hampshire borders to me in Kent. To cut a long story short - we both live with our parents. I seperated from an ex fiancee and moved back home and used that chance to study with the OU so cannot afford to live alone until my exams are over in June (yay!). He works in a good job, earning good money and has been doing this job for 10 years now.

The time has come where we alternate weekends, I go to him, he comes to me etc etc. We are discussing who will eventually move. This is where our problems start. I am a sentimental woman who loves her family. My parents argue alot over my dads business and my mum has run into some health problems and has been emotionally dependent on me for venting and advice and general escapism. She is a very private person and doesnt use her friends for this (must be a generation thing because I chew my friends ears off and vice versa..). Kent, to me, is home. I love the beach, I love the quiet roads, I love being here. It's perfect. One thing is that my job is flexible and going nowhere so it would be easier for me to up and move.

My OH doesnt feel particularly drawn to where he lives. He holds no sentiment and is much more complacent about moving. Unfortunately for him, Kent holds no real job offer in his line of work (aerospace) and any soldering jobs that crop up are temporary and a huge drop in wages for him. Understandably as you can see, there are already pros and cons to living in both counties.