+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Issues Regarding My Mother

Issues Regarding My Mother

Hello! This is my first time posting here. I'm really in need of some advice regarding a situation with my Mother.

First, I'll start by saying that I am 25 years old, have been in my current relationship for 4 years, and have a decent job which allows me to support myself while putting away money into my savings. I have lived on my own before but have not ever lived with a boyfriend. I'll also apologize beforehand if this seems a little all over the place - the story is slightly complicated but I feel it's necessary to include as many details as I can to receive the best advice.

A couple of years ago my niece became very ill and because of this my sister's other children had to live with my Mother, as my sister was in the hospital with her sick child. I moved in as well to help care for the children and support my family, both emotionally and financially. It was a devastating time for all of us. My Mother became the sole caregiver of the children for the most part and because of this, she greatly reduced her hours at work and essentially became a 'stay at home Mom', for lack of a better term. I continued to work and provide everything financially. My niece is, thankfully, much better now and the children are back with their Mom.

My boyfriend and I have been together for 4 years. We are intending on moving out together within the next 6 months, however I know that this will pose some problems for my Mother and this is starting to stress me out. I've lived on my own before, but when I moved out, it put a strain on my relationship with my Mother. She didn't speak to me for nearly 4 months. I don't know what it is as my 3 other siblings have each experienced the same thing - it's almost as though instead of seeing it as her children thriving, she sees it as an insult that her children are leaving her.