+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Never been in an actual relationship; would like to know where I stand

Never been in an actual relationship; would like to know where I stand

Context: I'm not much of the social "type." Before I started college, I barely had any friends at all, nor did I feel the need for friends. Needless to say, therefore, that I have no experience whatsoever with romantic love. However, I've recently become increasingly interested in finding a partner. I guess I have a few considerable virtue, but I'm not sure if they are considered desirable for a relationship. Hence I would like to know how many of you consider me a possible partner. I am writing it out of genuine interest---this is in no way an attempt to boast. Please assume that everything I write is accurate, or simply answer it as a theoretical question. Since I'm writing this anonymously, either way, there is no way you can validate or invalidate any of my statements.

Would you go out and/or consider a serious relationship with somebody of the following traits?

Spiritually:
    - What most people I've met consider to be exceptionally intelligent, even brilliant
    - Speaks and writes impressively
    - Honest, to the point of being nearly brutal
    - A line of innovative achievements in a variety of fields, such as theoretical physics, music and non-fiction writing (incidentally, my main interest and future career is physics)
    - Eccentric, characterized by a lot of unusual, possibly abnormal habits
    - A stubborn perfectionist, would struggle to make every meeting memorable
    - Openly self-centered, but cares for those dear to him
    - Has some sense of humor
    - Idealistic; has the "vision thing" as well as long term plans
    - Would never betray his principles

Physically:
    - Does not follow aesthetic fashions
    - Relatively tall
    - Extremely (and I do mean extremely) thin
    - Mediocre self-care
    - Deep voice
    - Long brown hair