+ Follow This Topic

Thread: I don't know what I feel

I don't know what I feel

Hi, I'm a twenty one year old woman trying to work out what I feel for a male friend, the main problem is I have no experience to work from since I've never had a boyfriend, gone on a date or even be asked out. We met a few months ago at the university chess club and 'cos I was a complete beginner he asked for my number so we cold meet up for him to teach me. As he's also into escapology, or more precisely being tied up and seeing if he can escape within a time limit or face a forfeit, so we ,well mainly he, decided to meet up at my home to practice since tying one another up in a public place would probably attract unwanted attention. We've kept meeting up as well as going to the chess club and since his home is in the same direction as mine he often gives me a lift back when it's late at night. Over the past month or two I have noticed a change in my feelings. Usually I am a very apathetic, solitary individual who can go for a long time without human interaction yet I find myself craving his company. When I'm on facebook I really like chatting with him and I feel sad when he hasn't answered my messages (I mean by days not by minutes or hours) and at chess I always look to see if I can find him. I also find his company very relaxing. However as I have already said I tend to float around in a bubble of apathy and any feelings I do have tend to dissipate rapidly. For that reason and the lack of experience with guys I don't know whether he would be amiable to being more than friends. Also, in matters of politics we are quite opposed, he's a liberal and I'm fairly right wing and I'm not sure how much we have in common except chess, escapology and some movies.
    In summation I'm just wondering how to characterise my feelings and whether I should look closer at pursuing my friend.