+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Is he holding me back?

Is he holding me back?

My life is nowhere near how I pictured it. I graduated at the top of my class in high school and started college when I was 18. I was always the one who would never study for anything and always held perfect grades. It always just came easily to me.

During my first semester of college I also worked 2 jobs and had my own apartment. I always saw myself being successful and being able to have the things I wanted. I had only had one relationship all through high school so when I met my (now) husband I fell for him fast. He was romantic and spontaneous and at the time had a decent job. I ended up quitting college (my plan was to take a break for a semester) and we moved into a nice house together and things were going pretty good.

We both had money saved up and all of my plans of graduating college and having a career before I settled down just seemed silly at the time. We rushed into marriage and buying a home and now we can't afford anything. We are both working our butts off to keep what we have. We have been together for 5 years now and for the last 2 years we have fought constantly because I know that even if I wanted to I can't afford to go back to college now and I can't keep living like this.

He doesn't see the problem because he was a high school dropout (he has a GED) and his family has always struggled with money. He tells me that's just the way life goes. I didn't grow up in a wealthy family either but I've known from a young age that I want more than what I had growing up and I've always been told I could do that. Not a lot of people have the intelligence to learn things so easily and I know I can do anything I put my mind to so how could I let love blind me so much and put me in this situation.