+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Advice about a military man...

Advice about a military man...

Hi!

This is my first time posting here, but I've seen some great advice going on!

So, this is a pretty unique situation that I could do with some advice on. I recently got 'set up' with somebody who works in the military. We dated for a couple of months and it was brilliant! He was a true gentleman, always told me how wonderful he thought I was and treated me exactly how I'd always hoped somebody would!

Then, we had to spend a month apart between him working away and me going on holiday. In that time, his job changed and he was relocated. Everything was a bit up in the air. He wasn't sure when or how often he would be home anymore and kept telling me how stressed out he was by everything, so he said he felt he needed to end it. I was so shocked and obviously pretty gutted. I told him that I thought it could work, but he just kept saying how he wouldn't be able to give me the time I deserved and do the job at the same time. That all of his previous relationships had broken down because of his job (including his marriage). So even though it's not what I wanted I tried to accept it and move on...that was about a month ago.

But, I then spoke to him over the weekend and it turns out he doesn't enjoy his job as much as I thought. He said that he was hating it at the moment and was seriously considering giving it all up. He said that was why he's been so stressed out, because he needs to figure out what to do. He said he just didn't know if it was worth missing out on everything he's giving up for a job he doesn't enjoy anymore. I told him that he just needs to do whatever makes him happy, that maybe he should give it more time, but he said he's given it years and it's getting no better.