+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do women view poker as a profession?

How do women view poker as a profession?

Hi, I've been making a living playing poker for the last 7 years. I'm not a millionaire but I own a condo, have no debt and am comfortable financially.

I play mostly online so it's tough for me to meet women. I've tried online dating and the second I tell them what I do for a living, I lose them before I even get to ask them out. I'm also a good looking guy so I know that's not the problem.

I'm getting discouraged and feel like a buying a nice car (something I think is a total waste of money) just so that when I tell a women what I do, I get more credibility.

Is it all in my head or do women look down on poker as a profession?

thanks

On line poker yes, because it's not a legitimate career......but if you are actually playing at the tables with Daniel Negreanu and Tom Dwan you wouldn't need online dating.

Quote Originally Posted by smackie9 View Post
    On line poker yes, because it's not a legitimate career......but if you are actually playing at the tables with Daniel Negreanu and Tom Dwan you wouldn't need online dating.
    I do play at the tables also but not with those guys. I would have to be a multimillionaire to play those stakes. That's like saying your business career is not legit unless your the CEO of a huge company.

My guess, playing poker is risky and you can literally lose your shirt. It's not a stable means to make an income. Women are not going to take their chances.

note ***Wearing a WSOP bracelet would be more impressive than a new car IMO.

My guess, playing poker is risky and you can literally lose your shirt. It's not a stable means to make an income. Women are not going to take their chances.

note ***Wearing a WSOP bracelet would be more impressive than a new car IMO.
    Ok thanks. I'll fly to vegas and get myself one tomorrow....