+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Did I over react?

Did I over react?

My boyfriend was once again complaining about my schedule because he hates the fact that I do not have a set schedule.. I work some days, nights and some weekends and he has a M-F 8-5.. He told me that my schedule is affecting our relationship and I should change it.. I am a retail manager and I can't just change my schedule and he knows this... The deeper issue is his daughter left for college and he is often home alone and he hates being alone..

During the conversation, I asked him if all of his exes had the same schedule as he did... He became furious and yelled" You do not want to start drawing comparisons because , trust me you will be wounded" I thought I heard him wrong and he repeated it... I took that to me that he felt they were much better than I was and I was offended.. I reacted emotionally and said " Why do you go f**k them if they were so great, you probably have been all along... ( I know that this was wrong to say)

He does think there was anything wrong with what he said and says that he is furious at what I said and is now ignoring me.. He stated that I took what he said out of context and I'm pretty sure that I did not..

Is he wrong or did I over react?? Thank you for your advice with this...

An astute person would have clarified to the other person what he meant by his words instead of responding out of anger without knowing or understanding what the other person really meant.

What a controlling, immature, thoughtless prick. Your initial assessment was right and I would have thought the exact same thing. There are no two ways to interpret what he said - there was no 'misunderstanding' and you have every right to be angry.