+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Was it right for me to just let him go?

Was it right for me to just let him go?

Alright, get ready for a 2-4 year long story.
    When I was a freshman in high school, I was very shy and reserved. After joining a bunch of extracurriculars sophomore year, I became determined to start branching out and befriending new people. I started talking to this girl that I used to be friends with when we were younger again, and through her I met all of the soccer team members who were in my grade. The girls opened up to me after a bit, and the guys were incredibly friendly almost right away, except for one. I was puzzled by this at first, but he's kind of nerdy and I noticed that most of his friends were guys, so I figured that he was shy around girls. I kept putting in effort to try to befriend him, and it eventually worked about halfway through our junior year of high school. Then, at some time in November of 2015, I realized that I had a crush on him.
    I had had crushes in the past, but they were mostly sweet, subtle, innocent, and lasted maybe a month or two before fading. This one drove me completely insane. According to my friends, half of the time I talked about him I would start blushing and I found it very hard to look at him without feeling my face heat up. I didn't know how to handle these feelings, so I opened up to one of my friends about it. She told me that the fact that it was a secret was making it harder on me, so she suggested that I tell more people. I did this, and I ended up telling one of his guy friends and two of his close female friends in the process. After six months, it became much easier for me to hide and control my feelings. Over the next year and a half, there would be points in which I would think that I had finally moved on, but then I'd bump into him or something and feel jolts run up and down my arm.