+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Conflict over graduation ceremony invite..

Conflict over graduation ceremony invite..

Hi,

got a little question for you guys (bear with me)..

I finished university in July, and recently just got the news about when the graduation ceremony is, along with the forms to fill in about when I will attend, who my +1's are and everything..

.. and I'm falling out with my girlfriend about it because I didn't invite her.

Here's the thing; I could not give a damn about graduation - I have my degree, and that's all that matters (I don't particularly care much for the degree itself either, but that's a story for another time and place). If I feel like celebrating it, which I don't, I'd celebrate it in my own way, not dressed up at some goddamn function for a glossy photo I could take after a visit to the fancy dress store. As I see it, these ceremonies are fine if you're into that sort of thing, but as the culmination of university seems to be essentially a bunch of ****ing photographs.. it's just ridiculous. I went to uni to get a degree, I got the degree, done.

As I see it, this graduation this is a waste of time, a day that will be endless, boring, and difficult to cope with being herded around a building, having to sit in a particular chair, get up at a particular time, and such. And look pleased, or at least mildly bemused, through it all.

My girlfriend, however, is kinda the opposite. She loves graduations (compared to me), sees them as a chance for closure and a mark of the end of a "chapter" in one's life, and she's right, I guess. For those that are into that kinda thing. Anyways, she got to asking when it is, and who I'm taking with me, and I explained to her that I'm taking two people with me who I "owe" it to; my mum and a family friend. I guess they've earned it for their support and help over the years. They sure feel its their right to go.