+ Follow This Topic

Thread: I feel smothered by my boyfriend, and don't know what to do...

I feel smothered by my boyfriend, and don't know what to do...

My best friend of 3 years and I decided to be in a relationship together 3 months ago. Things have been pretty good. The thing is, he talks all the time about wanting to marry me, have kids with me, spend the rest of his life with me, that i mean everything to him and he doesn't know what he would do with me. He also wants to hangout in all his free time and texts me every break while he is working, and tells me he loves me like ten times every day. I'm only 21, and I have always been an independed person who likes my alone time and my freedom. I am also a university student. I don't know what to do because he is my best friend. I am not feeling happy at the moment.
    Please, I need some advice.
    Last edited by harmony333; 09-10-11 at 02:12 AM.

Please talk to him about your feelings. Communication is key to making things work in a relationship. You have to think long and hard what you want out of this relationship. If you have no plans to marry and have his kids I suggest you be honest with him and tell him that your priorities are different from his, so it's not going to work out.

Its not that I have no plans to marry him. I truly love this guy, he treats me like gold and its very supportive of me. Its not that I have no plans of marrying or having kida with him. Its just that I'm totally not ready to be talking about marriage at all. And that is what is making me feel suffocated.

Tell him you want to say something important over a quiet dinner---if he's sensitive enough, he'll get it that its serious...Then just talk to him, no other way to get your feelings known if you keep it to yourself... you'll just be miserable and more miserable if he continues to act like how you dont like him to.

Enjoy life not worry about it