+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Long engagement...

Long engagement...

I've been with my fiance for 9 years and we have been engaged for 5 years now...LONG TIME!!!

When he proposed 5 yrs ago, I was a sophmore in college and had plans on going to graduate school and planned on getting married after I graduated, since neither of us had money for a wedding and we knew that our parents would not be able to help us out much.

Now, graduate school was pushed off a little bit and I really want to get married now...I'm ready for that next step...but we still don't have enough money for a wedding. I feel like I want to get married so badly and that he doesn't care if were engaged for 20yrs....yet, he says that he does care and that he does want to get married...but I feel that he just keeps on pushing off our wedding...Yes, money is a huge contributing factor, but I don't want to have such a long engagement....I always ask myself, why did he propose to me if he knew we would have to wait so long???

Now, he may be moving across the country to Utah due to his job situation and I don't know if I want to move that far. I told him that if I moved with him we would HAVE to get married, b/c we would be starting a new chapter of our lives together...and it would be a great time to get married. Unfortunately, we only have $3,000 for a wedding, that's less than my engagement ring and wedding band...and that's almost as much money that we spent last year throwing his grandparent's 50th anniversary party.