+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Long Distance Advice

Long Distance Advice

So my gf and I are about two hours apart for at least the next couple of years. We're trying to make a long distance thing work, but I'm not quite sure how well it can be done. I guess my biggest concern is that I want to see her as much as possible without completely interfering and taking over her life every weekend. I'm not the type of guy who needs to hear from her every night before she goes to bed or worries what she's doing, but I just want to be able to find a good balance where I can see her a couple of weekends a month and then just maintain things in between then. I guess this is just asking for really general advice, but I was just wondering if anyone had any tips for how to do this, just since I'm completely new to this kind of thing and feel like I have no idea if I'm doing too much/too little in order to stay with her. We talk in one way or another pretty much every day, probably calling each other 2-3 times a week for half an hour or so, but I'm just curious if anyone has any experiences that could be a bit useful for this. Huge thanks. And if you need more detail, let me know since I know this is kind of short.

My goodness. Do you people really consider that long distance????
    Anything that is over 5 hours by Plane is Long Distance to me. Better yet International.

I think anything where there's some travel involved and you can't see each other as much as you want b/c of the distance qualifies as "long distance".

Junket is offline -
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    Anytime where it's impractical to stop by after work or school on your way home constitutes long distance in my book.

I'm assuming you're both in college now?

She has 2 years left, I'm out.

Junket is offline -
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    How long have you been dating, and is the relationship mutually committed?