+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Ready to lose my mind and freaking out!

Ready to lose my mind and freaking out!

Been dating the same guy almost 5 years. He had financial issues arising from his business failure over a decade ago (and he was convicted of check kiting). He was able to get employment until about 5 months ago when he was laid off. He's been trying but at 65 y/o, it's not easy. He is living off of unemployment and just inherited some money($50K) but it has to be left in trust and he already owes $10K to his credit card cos. He and I do love each other (a lot) BUT I'm freaked out b/c he wants to marry me as soon as he is employed again (and he reminds me he can also collect social security as of Jan 1).

I am a professional and a widow with 2 adult kids; one of which I'm totally supporting and another slightly supporting.
    I am so torn up about this - I can't sleep through a night - i really don't want to break it off with my bf but don't see how I can marry him much less live with him. even if he gets a job, I don't trust his financial judgment and he has almost nothing saved for retirement.

What would you do???

At his age of 65, financial stability is a must. It stinks to love someone so much without this, but I wouldn't continue with this relationship. Are you stable financially on your own with your supporting responsibilities?

Do you just not want to break up or do you not want your relationship to end?

Yea, there's a lot of risk here since you're helping your children and they're priority. Are there any other options you two have other than marriage so your finances aren't intertwined which would still be satisfactory for the both of you relationship wise?