+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Is it normal to love someone but obsess over others?!

Is it normal to love someone but obsess over others?!

Hi guys,

Is this normal? Is this a feeling that ever goes away? I have been in three long-term relationships now - I am 34 - and I'm always finding myself crushing on other women who aren't my girlfriend.

Usually this begins around 6 - 12 months into a relationship, I suppose when that gloss of everything being new and exciting begins to wear off and the other person becomes a permanent fixture in my life. I haven't ever acted on feeling this way, but I wonder how normal it is to feel like this?

I love my girlfriend and we have been together for a year. Everything is relatively good, but there is another woman that I have been lusting after for at least six months. Actually I first noticed her around a year ago and we cross paths a lot, though have only ever spoken briefly. She is incredibly beautiful and I recently found out more about her after stumbling across her online and haven't been able to stop thinking about her for weeks. I am not kidding myself, even if I were single, this other girl is 12 years my junior. Nothing would probably come of it anyway.