+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I Quit Smoking Today

I Quit Smoking Today

It's been planned for a couple of weeks now, as I agreed to quit with a friend of mine... and today is the date she chose. At a recent dr appt, she was told she was in the beginning stage of emphysema. I have been wanting to quit for awhile now myself, so when she told me the news... I told her I'd quit with her.

I have been smoking since I was 14 years old. I'm 32 now... so that's about 18 years. All of my adult life (and then some).

I've quit twice before for about a year each time (during and after my two pregnancies). Both of those times it was EASY. My body rejected the whole smoking habit naturally, AND I had a great reason to let it go.

This time it's harder of course, because it's pure choice, but I'm determined to become a non-smoker. To change my lifestyle with a complete turnaround. I'm replacing the pepsi & smokes with water & exercise.

I guess I just needed to tell someone, say it out loud...

Tone Guest
    Good, now stick to your guns.

I posted this before in the "Kissing" section:

"For what it's worth, my dad died from emphasema. It was horrible to watch. So those of you with kids, you're being very selfish; think of your kids. Cigarettes will kill you. I'd say over about the last 7 years are very noticable; then the last 2 are hard with the last 6 months or so being unbearable.

I would never, ever want my kids to have to go thru what I witnessed; if that meant giving up solid food, I would.

That is all. *steps off soapbox*"
    [URL=http://imageshack.us][/URL]

Good for you for quitting! I hope you stick to it!

Thanks for posting it again, Lloyd - that's one of my greatest motivations!

I think NOW is a good time for me to be letting go of A LOT of bad habits in my life... so I can really start to move forward. Otherwise I'm going to be sitting here 10 years from now still smoking it up and dating jerks LOL