+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How should I ask her to be friends?

How should I ask her to be friends?

I like this girl a lot and rather than rushing things I would like to try to be her friend first. We've talked some, but I think it would make things more official if I asked her to be friends.

How do I phrase it though?

To me the best way sounds like

"Hey/ You know, I'd {really} like it if we could be friends" {should I say "really"?}

"would you like to be friends"
    and "Do you want to be friends"
    and "Will you be my friend sound to childish.....

any advice anyone?

LINEBACKER _2 Guest
    Actually, why don't you just let things progress naturally and see what happens?

LINEBACKER 2

I'll tell you what NOT to do:

When I was a freshman in college I was attracted to the girl nextdoor but I thought it would be a bad idea to date her cause of how closed she lived to me. So one day when she was in my room flirting like crazy, I said to her, "Look, I like you a lot, but you're just becoming too much of a distraction for me right now. I still want to be friends though." Worst move ever... we hardly talk now, she turned into one of the hottest girls I have ever seen, and I feel like the biggest jerk in the world. If I were you, I'd let her know you are attracted to her (if you are) but that you "love spending time together as friends." See where it goes from there.

I don't want to rush things.

But if I get some closure or confirmation that she'd like to be friends then I can be sure that I'll have a good opportunity to tell her how I feel later on.

btw how long should I stay "friends" with her before I make my move?