+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hello everyone! plus, a love emergency..

Hello everyone! + love emergency (long-distance relationship)

um.. hi

I never liked forums (in general) much in the past, they always just confuse me. But if I had known there was one called loveforum, I think I'd have joined a while ago. So, i'm a total forum newbie. didn't even find the post button for a while, that's how new.

I really need some advice... I'm kind of a loner and don't have many close friends who I can ask, or who I could use as frames of reference for what is considered normal in my situation...
    Is it naive of me to expect my long distance (LONG distance; 7 hour, 700€ flights) boyfriend (16 months) to be completely exclusive to me? I'm a 19 year old virgin, he's 3 years older and more experienced.

The first time he brought up the topic of having a more 'casual' relationship, I cried so much that he just backed down on it.. but the issue has reared its head again, and I feel like we really have to kill it good this time.

One part of me says "hey, i'm an all-or-nothing gal, and if some jerk can't give that to me, he doesn't deserve me in the first place!", and another part of me says "he's just a little commitment-phobic, give him some space and if he really loves me, he'll always come back to me"..

I respect that he's being honest about he wants; It would be so much worse if he just ignored his own wishes.. eventually that could lead to him building a resentment to me and jeopardise our friendship. But even if I tell him that we can have more of an open relationship, even if my _mind_ fully understands that he needs this, that it's better for the long run, that I might benefit from it myself, etc, it's still going to hurt my _heart_ like hell if he really.. dates somebody else in a romantic way.