+ Follow This Topic

Thread: love vs. career

love vs. career

my gf and i been together about a year now. i graduated a few months agofrom college and she is still in school. it has been about half long distance and now its long distance again.

more and more i have felt this relationship weigh down my career and its getting to a point where i don't want to choose between it, but it almsot seems that way. i care for her a lot and she cares for me too. we have something special (and all that cheesy blah blah blah). but seirously, this relationship has been a lot diffferent than any other ive been in.

i didnt get a chance to talk to her in the last two/three days and have focused tremendoulsy on my career. i am a starving artist. anyway, i finally got to talk to her last night and we ended up fighting over some stupid stuff. so unnessecary. anyway it made me realize that in the few days i didnt interact with her, i was phenomenaly productive. i accomplished more (career wise) than i did in the past three weeks i spent with her. it seems when im with her or talk with her on the phone etc, it jsut takes up soooo much time, money, energy, etc. maybe she is too needy? maybe i dont have enough money/time/energy to give? maybe i need to learn to balance it?? i just thought a good relationship would help you grow and stuff like that, but now its almost becomming a burden.

yes i do love her. we do have our ups and downs, but overall we are getting better and happy. yes i do love my career. and i will let nothing in my way to hinder it. so... well, i guess theres no real answer.. but any advice would be appreciated. thanks.

Tone Guest
    Love vs Career - I'll choose Love every day of the week.

I posted this in another thread:
    Quote Originally Posted by Tone