+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My problem, how to find someone? Advice required.

My problem, how to find someone? Advice required.

So, my problem is this. I'm 20 years old, i have never really had a girl friend, i can't talk to girls very good, i always turn bright red around them and get hot around the collar whenever i talk to one, even if i'm just training them on how to do something or giving them instructions.

I don't think i'm ugly, i'm not physically over or under the "average" weight or appearance, and i dont have the stereotypical "computer nerd" look to me. But, one of my problems is that being a computer nerd is my job. I work as a network administrator, basically my job involves maintaining and fixing anything with an electric wall plug at my place of work. Its not a very social job, and i'm not a very social person, but no matter how much money i make, what car i drive, how i dress, none of that matters, because i have no social skills.

There arn't that many girls around work my age, except for the occassional receptionists who work odd hours because they are still going to college, are very beautiful, who i'm sure already are married or have a boyfriend and hard for me to talk to because of that. The guys around there always introduce me to the new girls, but i always just get embarrased, say hello and run off.

I don't know what to do, how to cope with this, how to find someone, i really don't want to use some kind of internet site, just because it seems so fake and unreal, but i dont know. Can anyone help me out here, i just need ideas on how to get started, how to actually enjoy life the way everyone else does.
    I don't want to end up being "the 40 year old virgin". Thanks.

nice to have you here, ice. so now i won't end up being the only 40 year old virgin around. make the first move – i'm allowed to sit pretty and wait.