+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Lover's smoking habit- why does it bother me?

Lover's smoking habit- why does it bother me?

I'm 21 and in college. My boyfriend whom I met here is 22. We have a very affectionate, loving, & great relationship.

We first met when I was a freshman, and he was a junior. The first two years he had been at school, he had basically done nothing but partied. No serious girlfriends or anything like that, he just drank a lot and did MAD drugs. Acid, herion (never injected though), and more than I really want to list. He was a total junkie, not sleeping or eating for days, just waking up, snorting some heroin, and sitting in front of his computer all day. Never went to class.

Well I'm a total straight edge. I'm not one to pass judgement, I just never had any desire to get involved in the drug scene. Luckily for our relationship, my boyfriend had matured to a point in his life where he was sick of the drug/party scene, and was ready to give it up for something new. When his best friend died from an OD on herion, he left everything for good.

All except smoking cigarettes and the occasional beer. Now I guess I should be happy that he left all the drugs behind, but for some reason the cigarette smoking bothers me. Alcohol doesn't really though. He's struggled with quitting smoking since we've been dating (over a year and a half). He promised me time and time again he would quit for me, but I think now that he really just has to want to quit for himself. Plus I'm not trying to be a control freak here! I try not to harp on him for breaking his promises. Though sometimes I used to get very angry with him, and not talk to him when he smoked. But now I try to just shrug it off. He can tell that it bothers me, and he usually apologizes. But why should he? It's his life and his decision, I hate when he says I'm a control freak.