+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I hate this feeling of insecurity :(

I hate this feeling of insecurity :(

Hi
    Well I am a newbie here but thought I would post with the thoughts that are consuming my mind right now.
    I am in a distance relationship with a wonderful man. It has been a whirlwind romance, full of laughter and romantic gestures, and I've fallen for him very hard very quickly. He actually told me he's in love with me very early on which took me by surprise but I soon realised I felt the same.
    I was married for 18 years until I divorced 2 years ago and although I have been on dates and a couple of casual relationships nothing like this has ever happened to me before.
    My problem is that I have become really insecure lately. I understand that all relationships slow down but it seems as if he isn't texting me as much and the phonecalls aren't as frequent. We have recently argued about me getting upset if he can't come to see me or he cant stay long. I actually thought it was over as he said he couldn't bear the drama but we had a long conversation and he assured me that he loved me and still felt the same and that if he didn't have comittments he would be looking for a property nearer me. We agreed to try and just enjoy the time we do have together rather than worrying about how frequent it is but since then we've not talked much or texted and I'm getting that nagging feeling in my chest again.

I hate myself like this, its as if I am having all my teenage angst now as I married my first real boyfriend and never experienced it then!!! I'm worried that if I let things cool off then we will drift apart, but if I keep contacting him he will think I'm pushing him and get sick of me.

How do men's minds work? Is he really not texting as much because he's busy? Did we really put our problems behind us? Am I ruining the relationship by being like this?