+ Follow This Topic

Thread: I'm in a tough spot...

I'm in a tough spot...

I'm a musician, and i'm living with my girlfriend in new york right now until october.

I just worked on a cruise ship for 6 months, which was the coolest job i've ever had. Right now, it's exactly what I want to be doing. But my girlfriend hates it, she can't stand for me to be there. But the only reason i'm NOT doing it is because we're together.

The other day I was surfing the net and found this company that does pretty much the same thing but they contract musicians into 4 and 5 star hotels all across asia, playing 4 to 5 sets a day, and the rest of the time is free. All expenses paid. These are awesome opportunities but I can't do them because of my relationship.

I love my girlfriend, we've been together 2 years and been living together for 1 year now, and it just keeps getting stronger, but I'm waiting tables instead of doing what I really want to do. I have tried to talk with her about it and work out a compromise but she won't budge.

I even offered her a job on the cruise ship as well, and she has a legitimate answer, "as long as there's something that requires a master's of business degree" because she just graduated and her parents paid for her school, so she can't exactly just say "Hey Mom and Dad, thanks for the education, i'm going to go work on a cruise ship now, peace out!" Know what I mean?

Sometimes I feel like she's slowing me down as far as my career goes, and I don't have that much time here, life is short, I'm 24 it's time to get the ball rolling. I love traveling the world and playing music, and these jobs sound awesome.

Perhaps you shoud admit to yourself that your lifestyles are incompatible right now, and accept that you need to make a hard choice. It's not wrong that you want to travel and build up your career. In fact, it is age-appropriate. It also isn't bad that she wants to remain where she is. You guys just don't sound like a match right now.