+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Need an Objective Opinion

Need an Objective Opinion

Hello all. I'm hoping that someone can give me some insight into a challenge I'm facing, or perhaps advice based on experience.

I'm a very successful 26 year old female. I own my own home, I own my car, I have a post-secondary education from a highly accredited university and I'm a manager at a top oil and gas company. In mid-June of this year I met a guy online who is nearly 4 years younger than me, but wise beyond his years. Our relationship has moved very quickly but it has felt completely natural. We've said the "L" word, discussed our views on moving in together, marriage, children, etc. We've been planning our future. Here's the challenge:

Shortly after we made a commitment to be exclusive with each other, I discovered through a close friend that he was still frequenting the online dating site in which we met. I confronted him about it and while he admitted to it, he claimed that he was just bored one day and wasn't planning on pursuing any other relationship. He deleted his profile and I forgave him (although initially he was upset thinking that I had set up him and attempted to turn the situation around and blame me). For a few days he became very distant. When I approached him about it, he said he felt the spark was gone because of this issue and needed time to get it back. After a week or so, things were back to normal and we moved on.