+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: relationship going down the drain

relationship going down the drain

Hi,
    I have been dating a girl for almost a year now. She is a high school senior and I am a freshman in college. Unfortunately we are having a long distance relationship, she still lives in my old city, which is "only" 3000 miles away. We were determined to keep this thing going as I left because we have spent the greatest summer together. The first 2 months have gone by very smoothly. We had one or two occasional bad days but I felt that she loves and misses me a lot. Until this week. She has a one week holiday and went out every day, which is a bit unusual for her - she's not that much of a party girl. Every time this week I tried talking to her and it was strange. She was colder, didn't laugh at my jokes, barely responded in long sentences like usually. She looked bored, annoyed, mad. I asked if everything is alright and she got mad at me for asking, she said YES everything is fine why do you keep asking.
    The first thing I would think of is that she's found some other guy. I talk to her best friend, however, and she tells me everything and she assures me that there is nobody else. I asked her best friend why she's so annoyed and cold these days and she doesn't know either but she assures me that my girlfriend needs me. I'm very confused now. Our conversations have become awkward. We used to send each other e-mails every morning and night, which we still kind of do, except she doesn't say anything in her e-mails anymore - they are short and empty and she doesn't even say that she loves me anymore.
    This situation bothers me very much and, living 3000 miles away, it makes my life here very painful. I'm going back home in 50 days though and I was looking forward so much to seeing her and my family. She was basically my only reason to look forward to going home so this situation is horrible.