+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Getting back in the game, got the number, now what?

Getting back in the game, got the number, now what?

I have been out of the dating scene for a couple of years. I am a 23 year-old college student, so these are my prime years but I put on a bunch of weight a few years ago, got wrapped up in classes, lost confidence, realized I was balding prematurely...and stopped dating.

I've been going to the gym on a regular basis and have lost 30 pounds (270 to 240, used to be 185 before packing on the "freshman holy s***") since February. I have my confidence back, know what I am looking for and decided that I want to enjoy these years.

This semester, I ended up in 2 different classes with the same girl. A couple of weeks in, she approached me in one of the classes and we struck up a casual, in-class friendship, some messaging on Facebook, that kind of thing. She has sent out some signals that she is interested and I have definitely been interested (cute, funny, smart - nice combination). After our last class together this past Thursday, as we were walking out of class and talking, I decided to go for it and told her that I would like to get together for a cup of coffee after finals and get to know her some more outside of class. She replied with a wide smile and a "Definitely! I'd like that." So, I have her number...and part of mind is thinking "Now what?"

Finals are over for both of us this Friday and I told her that I would call her Wednesday to set something up and that is exactly what I plan on doing. So far, so good. Looking at what we'll do, it's a college town and so I think that a cup of coffee or hot chocolate is a good start. If it's going well and the conversation is good and there's some chemistry, there are a couple of music venues and a comedy club (she's a music nut and likes to laugh, so do I) that seem like a good fit for a "getting to know you outside of class" type night.