+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Am I the worst person in the world or is she overreacting?

Am I the worst person in the world or is she overreacting?

Hi,

I have never used a forum before, but now I find myself in a position of needing advice from unbiased people, so I decided to give it a try.

This is about a situation with my girlfriend. She was in the US, visiting her pre-college friends and I was working in Europe, so I was in the time zone 8 hours ahead of her.

We got in an argument over the phone a few days before her birthday. It was about a seemingly silly topic; I questioned the rationality of her approach towards running some errands and she thought that I was implying that she was not a capable partner and future wife/mother. Over the next few days leading up to her birthday, this argument continued. I assured her that questioning her actions did not in any way mean that I thought that she was not capable of something, but the resolution was not happening.

I called her December 5th, her birthday, at 10am European time 2am her time. I wished her a happy birthday and then we continued to argue about the same topic from few days ago for about 20 minutes at which point I had to go to work. So, I ended the conversation by whishing her happy birthday again and told her to have a good time with her friends.

At the end of my working day at 6pm my time 10am her time, still on December 5th , I thought about calling her to wish her a happy birthday again, but remembering that my previous attempt just upset her I chose to write an email. Quote below…

"Hi,