+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Education in a relationship future

Education in a relationship future

Hi, I am 30 yr old italian.dating a 35yr old American man for 6 years now. He is The One! Unfortunately the relationship seems not able to take off.He is not ready for "that" blind jump (marriage), he is not 100% sure I am the One for him I guess.I am in love -this is why I am so devoted, still waiting and hoping. BUT since new year arrived we've been talking big time about serious things like marriage&future together (finally).I have a high school diploma of foreign languages and I have been working for 8 years in an American environment- using my language skills and knowledge. I started almost right after high school-always wanted to get my own indipendence, earn and save some money for the future. Always loved my job - responsibilities and good pay is what I like the most. "The idea of a college degree " has been in my mind for the past two years. Study and Work (full time) is very very hard but I wanted to give it a try because I want more from myself and I don't want for my brain to go to sleep too soon So I am at school now.Of course I just started college and it officially takes 3 years if not longer. I don't mind I have no rush but I do somehow. He has a bachelor degree and a good job. He is very ambitious and very much big money-oriented. He always says "I want the best around - also the best wife.want you to get a master degree.education is fundamental" I agree w/that.Education is very important nowadays - but...It seems more like ANOTHER reason that keeps us separated-to take time.The other day I asked him "I have a job and have my own life here and you have your own things there - we both are working and earning money-do you think we will ever have the chance to "enjoy" each other one day?" and he said: " yes when you finish school". OK now I understand Education is very important but after 6 years you cannot tell me to wait longer bc I don't have a bache