+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Torn between money and love...

Torn between money and love...

I am 25 and have been with my husband (27) for a total of 8 years. We have been married for 3 years and we don't have any kids. I would like to leave my husband for many reasons. But I am torn between doing whats right in my heart and doing whats right financially.

I have never cheated nor has he (that I know of). The first 5-6 years of our relationship was great... We were always together, had fun, and enjoyed each others company. All of our friends were jealous of our relationship. He is a great guy.. Hard worker, responsible, reliable and very affectionate. But, we are no longer on the same path in life.

I graduated in 2005 w/ a Graduate Degree in Accounting and am currently working for a company as a Cost of Sales Analyst. He on the other hand never graduated High School (promised to get GED). As you can see education is very important to me. He always promised me he would get his GED, and never did. I bought the study course and told him I would help him study. Recently, I told him I found a class that he could go to for his GED. It was twice a week for 2 hours (18 weeks). He flat out told me - You married a highschool drop out. Stop trying to change me. IM NOT GETTING MY F*ING GED.

This hurt me. What is so wrong with bettering yourself?

He runs his own constuction company and makes about what I make. But, if anything were to happen such as loss of work, hand, finger, bad economy... Where would he work? Mc Donalds? Whenever work was low and he wasn't bringing much $$ in I told him to go get a regular job... His response: I look like a peice of shit on paper. No one is going to hire a Highschool drop out. So, i always said... Do something about it.

Now, I am just fed up. Everything he does annoys the crap out of me. EVERYTHING... He bites his nails (I say stop, he's says stop nagging me). Anyways I am sick of it.

My issue: