+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jealousy

Jealousy

Hell everyone... I need some advice.

I have an issue that is causing problems in my relationship. I get upset when her attention is not 100% on me. I know its wrong, and I still do it.

I love this girl and I dont know how to fix this. Does anyone have some wise words?

[url]http://books.google.com/books?id=CF52zJBihNsC&dq=desperate+for+attention+t herapy&source=gbs_navlinks_s[/url]

That book seems to be designed for a therapist. How is that practical for me? I am an airline pilot, not a therapist.

I did a search for a book that might help you, and that's what came up. I haven't read it though. That was entirely useless of me. I'm sorry.

Fact is, I don't know if anyone can tell you how not to do something you already know you're not supposed to be doing.

First, you need to find out why you require her undivided attention. Did you feel neglected as a youth? Do you feel you don't receive enough appreciation for the things you do? Are you afraid that if her attention isn't on you, it'll be directed toward other men?

In my experience, once you find out why you do something it's easier to work on correcting the behavior.

Well, I know why it is.

I was married once before. My wife cheated on me with men and women. I was oblivious to it for the longest time, though I think deep down I knew things were going on. After giving tons of chances, I could not take the heart break anymore. I left and filed for a divorce.

I did not ask why at first. After our divorce, I stupidly continued to fly to see her and stay with her much of the month. I was trying to stay her husband though we were divorced. Finally one night, I asked her why she did what she did. She told me she had needs that I could not fulfill. Talk about a kick in the head!