+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Not Quite Sure About Summer Split

Not Quite Sure About Summer Split

So here's the deal. My gf and I had been going out for almost a year when I graduated college back in May. She still has 3 years of college left at this point. For the summer, we are about 5 hours apart, but afterwards, we'll be closer to about an hour and a half. Things had been going really well with us for the whole year, never got into any big fights, never had any problems at all really. So we talked about what we wanted to do, with me saying I wanted to stay together, and her saying that she wasn't sure what she wanted to do. A couple key points that she brought up during it were that she didn't want to have anything happen with someone else during the summer and have me get pissed, and that she still wanted to talk. So we decided to make things unofficial between us for the summer.

Initially, I assumed that things were done. After a week, she's texting/calling me telling me to come visit her, and so we actually end up seeing each other a couple times so far and having an awesome time. We still talk to each other most days during the week, still tell each other we love each other, pretty much everything is exactly the same as it was before. So I kind of have a couple theories about this that I'd like some help sorting out:

1. This is her last summer at home with her friends, so she wanted to be able to enjoy it and maybe hook up with a guy or two without feeling held down by me at all or bad about anything. And then once the summer is over and we're fairly close together again, we'll see if we can make a long-distance thing work. And to be honest, I'm perfectly fine with this, it's not like I haven't been with anyone since her this summer.
    2. She's keeping in contact with me for the summer until she gets back to school and finds someone new. This would piss me off a bit, but again, it's not like I'm really losing anything by staying in contact with her now.