+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Continue with long distance looming?

Continue with long distance looming?

I graduated from college last year and have been working on growing a business which I started in college. My girlfriend goes to college in the town where I live, pursuing a teaching degree. It is her 3rd year and she will be moving to 500 miles away for 4 months this summer to do some student teaching. We have dated for 4 months, she loves to travel and see new places. I hardly ever travel and have never moved. She has moved many times and lived in different countries. She was gone for three weeks over Christmas and it sucked, we talked every night but it still sucked. She plans on taking a placement upon graduation, which could be anywhere. I really have no desire to move away from life long friends and my whole family. Is there any sense in continuing when it appears that most likely we will part. I think that her staying here is a long shot at best. She hates the small town where we are at.

This girl is ambitious and has big goals for herself, which is great. I don't think you can expect that she's going to alter her life direction to stay in a town that she hates, as you put it. And if you'd rather stay where you are, then it might be time for you two to talk about where the relationship is going. It's gonna suck if you guys are really into one another, but it doesn't look like she's ready to settle down just yet.

Sounds bad. You should ask her where she sees your future together, because if she's as smart as she sounds she's thinking the same thing as you.